Unify Manual

Your complete reference to PlugInGuru's creative playground!

User Tools

Site Tools


upgrading-106

Upgrading from Unify v1.0.2 or v1.0.3

Upgrading from Unify v1.0.2 or v1.0.3 may involve a few additional steps, depending on your specific set-up. As always, we recommend that you run the Unify stand-alone app first, before trying to use one of the Unify plug-ins in your DAW.

Unify v1.0.6 keeps its files and folders in slightly different places than you may be used to with earlier versions. Please see Unify v1.0.6 files and folders for details. If anything goes wrong with your upgrade, PLEASE, DO NOT ATTEMPT TO FIX IT YOURSELF UNTIL YOU UNDERSTAND THESE CHANGES. CLICK HERE.

Locating Unify's main content folder

When you install Unify v1.0.6 (or later) over an earlier v1.0.2 or v1.0.3 installation, you might see a window like this pop up, when you run Unify for the first time after installing:

You might not see this appear at all, but if you do, click Let me choose, navigate to wherever you had put Unify's main content folder, and click OK. At this point, Unify should run normally.

Verifying presence of the PlugScanner

Click on the upside-down plug icon at the bottom-right of the Unify window, to open the Known Plugins view.

Click the Operations button at the bottom, and choose the appropriate menu item to scan VST, VST3 or (Mac only) Audio Unit plug-ins on your system. You don't have to perform a full scan—you can click Cancel when it begins—but you should check just once to make sure that the installation completed properly.

In a few rare cases, users have reported seeing an information window like this:

If you see this, quit Unify and run the installer again, then re-try the scan. If you see it again, try restarting your computer. If you still see it, skip down to “Checking for missing files” below.

Removing the old VST folder

In older versions of Unify, the VST folder containing the bundled third-party VSTs was kept inside Unify's main data folder. In Unify v1.0.6 and later, the installer will have created a new VST folder in your computer's Applications folder (/Applications/PlugInGuru/Unify on Mac, C:\Program Files/PlugInGuru/Unify on Windows). Therefore, you won't need the old VST folder anymore, and you can delete it.

The best way to locate the old VST folder is to go to Unify's Settings View and click the “Open…” button. In the Finder/Explorer window that opens, you should see folders called Libraries and Presets. If you see one called VST, that's the old, out-dated one—move it to the Trash.

Removing the old PlugInGuru/Unify folder

The older Unify installer always created a folder called PlugInGuru inside your computer's shared user folder; this is

  • /Users/Shared/PlugInGuru on Mac
  • C:\Users\Public\Documents\PlugInGuru on Windows

IF you're still keeping Unify's content in this default location, you're all done.

IF you decided to move Unify's main data folder elsewhere, take a moment to check now, to see if there's still a PlugInGuru folder in the default location, and if so, move it to the Trash. You won't need it anymore.

Checking for missing files

If Unify isn't working properly at this point, we're sorry, and we'll do everything we can to help when you contact us at UnifySupport@PlugInGuru.com.

Before you get in touch, we'd like you to have a quick look for Unify's files and folders, to see if anything's missing.

upgrading-106.txt · Last modified: 2021/09/02 22:03 (external edit)